The EYFS Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a birth to 5yrs curriculum. It is followed by all Ofsted registered childcare providers and Reception classes in England.

The EYFS is a play based curriculum where highly skilled practitioners use observations to assist them in supporting a child to their next steps in learning.

The ‘Prime Areas’ of learning within the EYFS are:

  • Communication & Language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional development

The EYFS is further extended by the specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The EYFS provides details of the statutory guidelines for Health and Safety and Safeguarding regulations of settings working with children 0-5yrs, outlining key expectations and cementing values of a play based approach to learning, where children are freely able to explore indoors and outside.


© Copyright 2015–2024 Rye Community Primary School | Aquinas Trust– View Privacy Notice

School & College Websites by Schudio